WV Citizen Action Group
Action Alert

July 8
 Alert Archive

Group to Rally Around Marcellus Shale Drilling, Fracking Regulations Monday, July 11 in Charleston

On July 11, a rally at the State Capitol complex in Charleston will bring together community members, expert speakers, politicians, and entertainers to urge the WV Legislature to put a moratorium on Marcellus Shale hydraulic drilling and to develop comprehensive regulations that will protect the people of West Virginia. The rally is concurrent with a interim session of the legislature. The organizers of the rally, West Virginians for a Moratorium on Marcellus ("WV4MOM"), support a moratorium until the impacts of Marcellus Shale drilling can be assessed and properly regulated. The group is encouraging the public to attend the rally and to contact members of the WV Legislature's Joint Select Committee on Marcellus Shale

Speakers include WV Delegates Barbara Evans Fleischauer and Anthony Barill; former Morgantown City Councilman Don Spencer; Mountain Party gubernatorial candidate Bob Baber; author Denise Giardina; attorney Hiram Lewis; and Rose Baker and Bonnie Hall of the Wetzel County Action Group, Gary Zuckett of WV Citizen Action Group; Julie Archer of the WV Surface Owners' Rights Organization and Frank Young of the WV Environmental Council. Musical guests include The Carpenter Ants, T. Paige Dalporto, Mike and Carrie Klein, and Cracker Stackwell. 

When: Monday, July 11, 2011 ~ 10AM to 2PM
Where: State Capitol (North Side/Capitol Circle), Charleston, WV

Click here for more information or email frackingquestions@gmail.com.

To contact members of the interim committee that will consider legislation to regulate drilling please see contact information below.

Members of the Select Committee need to hear from YOU now in support of a strong bill that adequately regulates Marcellus Shale drilling and protects the people and resources of the state.  They are already hearing otherwise from industry lobbyists.

Here are just a few of the essential elements needed in a Marcellus bill:

  1. Public notice and comment period prior to issuing drilling permits
  2. Adequate permit fees and bonding amounts
  3. Increased funding for more inspectors, and elimination of the industry-dominated Oil and Gas Examiners Board
  4. An actual water withdrawal permit system to protect streams and rivers
  5. Full protection of all water wells, with adequate setbacks and testing
  6. Disclosure of frack fluid contents, and tracking of all wastewater disposal, including  GPS tracking of wastewater transport trucks
  7. Removal and proper disposal of drilling pits
  8. Enhanced inspection of casing/cementing as critical for groundwater protection
  9. Monitoring and regulation of air quality on drilling sites
  10. Special protections for drilling on public lands and near high-quality streams
  11. Protection of surface owners’ property and rights


Doug Facemire, D-Braxton, Co-Chair     douglas.facemire@wvsenate.gov
    Capitol: 304 357 7845

Karen Facemeyer R-Jackson   karen.facemyer@wvsenate.gov
    Capitol: 304 357 7855

Corey Palumbo D-Kanawha    corey.palumbo@wvsenate.gov
    Capitol: 304 357 7880

Herb Snyder D-Jefferson    herb.snyder@wvsenate.gov
    Capitol: 304 357 7957  

Orphy Klempa D-Ohio        orphy.klempa@wvsenate.gov
    Capitol: 304 357 7918


Tim Manchin, D-Marion, Co-Chair     tmanchin@manchin-aloi.com  
   Capitol: 304 340 3166

Barbara Fleischauer D-Monongalia      barbaraf@wvhouse.gov  
   Capitol: 304 340 3169

Tom Campbell, D-Greenbrier   tcampbell@grcs.com
   Capitol: 304 340 3280

Woody Ireland, R-Ritchie    woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov
   Capitol 304 340 3195

Bill Anderson, R-Wood      bill.anderson@wvhouse.gov
   Capitol 304 340 3168

You can also call legislator’s Capitol offices Toll Free, at 1-877-565-3447


www.wvcag.org       304-346-5891     Subscribe/Unsubscribe