WV Citizen Action Group
Action Alert!

February 28
 Alert Archive

HB 2579 - Monday, March 4th. 2:00 PM. House Chambers.

Here is a message from our allies at the Environmental Council:

HB 2579 is a bill disguised as "protecting WV waters" calling for a study regarding selenium. The actual purpose is to allow the coal industry to continue the release of high amounts of selenium into our rivers and streams. We know this causes aquatic life malformations. This issue is already the subject of many lawsuits. The coal industry has been granted extensions to meet current selenium standards dating back to 2004. We will be speaking against this bill (which is on a "fast track").

We need you to come to the Capitol on Monday. Although time limits on public hearings are unusual, we are on notice that we only have one hour to present our case to the legislature. Half of that time will be given to the coal industry to spread their lies. So, although we will try to have as many of our voices heard as possible, we encourage you to bring written comments so that our outrage at the Coal Industry’s bid to endanger our lives goes on record.

Meet us Monday, March 4th,
at noon in the Capitol Cafeteria
to discuss the bill and our responses to it.

For more information, or to RSVP, contact:


Denise Poole (304) 617-8402


This Weekend, contact members of the House Judiciary Committee, and ask them not to support this bill.

Delegate Tim Miley, Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3252
Business Phone: (304) 326-1800
Email: tim.miley@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tim Manchin, Vice-Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3392
Business Phone: (304) 367-1862
Email: tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

Delegate John Ellem, Minority Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3394
Business Phone: (304) 424-5297
Email: john.ellem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane, Minority Vice-Chair
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3275
Business Phone: (304) 545-5263
E-mail: patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael Ferro
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3111
Business Phone: (304) 340-3111
E-mail: mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Fleischauer
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3169
Business Phone: (304) 296-7035
E-mail: barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mark Hunt
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3366
Business Phone: (304) 344-1800
E-mail: mhunt@markahunt.com

Delegate Linda Longstreth
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3124
Business Phone: NA
Email: linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Manypenny
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3139
Business Phone: (304) 677-0379
Email: mike.manypenny@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Justin Marcum
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3126
Email: justin.marcum@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Clif Moore
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3189
Business Phone: (304) 320-3165

Delegate John Pino
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3170
Business Phone: (304) 469-3295
E-mail: john.pino@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Issac Sponaugle
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3154
Business Phone: (304) 358-2337
Email: isaac.sponaugle@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Danny Wells
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3287
Business Phone: NA
E-mail: danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Cindy Frisch
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3125
Business Phone: (304)
E-mail: cindy.frich@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bill Hamilton
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3167
E-mail: bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Eric Householder
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3274
Business Phone: (304) 261-9468
Email: eric.householder@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Woody Ireland
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3195
Email: woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov
Delegate John McCuskey
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3183
Email: john.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John O’Neal IV
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3164
Business Phone: (304) 894-8445
E-mail: john.oneal@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Overington
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3148
Business Phone: (304) 274-1791
E-mail: john@overington.com

Delegate John Schott
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3187
Business Phone: (304) 327-0573
E-mail: john.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kelly Sobonya
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3175
Business Phone: (304) 736-6655

Delegate Mesha Poore
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3106
Business Phone: (304) 720-0764
Email: meshea.poore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Stephen Skinner
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3248
Business Phone: (304)
Email: stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov

www.wvcag.org       304-346-5891     Subscribe/Unsubscribe